OPEN OCO is the Online Consortium of Oklahoma’s new simple book production software, powered by Pressbooks.

Made possible through the dues paid by member institutions of the Online Consortium of Oklahoma, OPEN OCO will allow for the creation of up to 30 open textbooks, all to be openly licensed.  Faculty, staff, and students at the following institutions have unlimited access to create book projects:

  • Cameron University
  • Connors State College
  • East Central University
  • Murray State College
  • Northeastern State University
  • Redlands Community College
  • Tulsa Community College
  • Oklahoma State University (through OPEN OKState Pressbooks)
  • Western Oklahoma State College

Pressbooks has been adopted by educational institutions around the world as well as authors and publishers.  While our primary purpose is to publish textbooks, OCO institutions may opt in to a premium, unlimited tier subscription under OCO, which would allow for further uses such as scholarly monographs, syllabi, fiction and non-fiction books, white papers, and more.

Pressbooks materials are available in multiple formats including:

  • Browser-based reading
  • MOBI (for Kindle ebooks)
  • EPUB (for all other ebookstores)
  • designed PDF (for print-on-demand and digital distribution)

Contact Brad Griffith at bgriffith@osrhe.edu for more information on OPEN OCO projects or Pressbooks.

OPEN OCO Campus Contacts

  • Cameron University – Christopher Keller
  • Connors State College – Ona Britton-Spears
  • East Central University – Wendy McKibben, Shawna Bishop
  • Langston University – Caitlin Corbett
  • Northeastern State University – Pamela Louderback
  • Northwestern Oklahoma State University – Jenny Sattler, Shannon Leaper
  • Oklahoma City Community College – Ann Raia
  • Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education – Brad Griffith, Tracey Romano (online@osrhe.edu)
  • Oklahoma State University (OPEN OKSTATE) – Kathy Essmiller
  • Tulsa Community College – Jamie Holmes
  • University of Central Oklahoma – Jennifer Flygare, Kyle Motsinger
  • Western Oklahoma State College – Kristin Shelby